Pictures and Projects

27 06 2010

My first experience with volunteer travel was nothing short of incredible.  It is so fulfilling to be able to participate in such a wide variety of projects that contribute to healthy, happy communities as well as sustainable living.  I was able to plant, grow, build, harvest, teach, sew, lift, dig, paint, research, cook, clean, connect and play.  Doing the work alongside others is a big reward.  I wish I was able to capture more of the projects and processes on film.  However, being there in the moment is enough to remember.  Work hard, play hard and keep your eyes wide open the whole time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Actions

Information

20 responses

2 09 2011
Kimberly Lefferson

Hello Mrs. Bayda,

My name is Kimberly Lefferson and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am currently enrolled in Dr. Strange’s EDM310 class. I have enjoyed reading your blog post. I think what your doing is amazing, it takes a special person to travel around to different countries and teach. I’m sure it has been quiet a learning experience for you too though. I love all the pictures of the kids doing all different kinds of activities and you as well. I hope you keep enjoying what you are doing and continue to help others learn. 🙂 I can’t wait for your next update!

14 02 2011
Tracy Hunt

Hello Mrs. Bayda,
I am a student at the University of South Alabama majoring in Elementary Education. Upon reading your blog, I must say that what you do is very rewarding. You get to travel to many different countries, learning about the many different cultures, food, languages they speak, and the different “learning styles” and schools in each country. I would absolutely love to be able to travel to different countries and teach. The interaction of children in different cultures and how they learn, and what they do, and just the different teaching styles and methods is enough to put a smile on anyone’s face at the end of the day. It takes a special person to be able to do what you do, to travel to different countries and teach because all the children are different in how they learn in each country. Not everyone can do that. I really enjoyed reading your blog, and I look forward to reading more of what you write in the future.
Tracy Hunt
EDM310
Blog: http://hunttracyedm310.blogspot.com/
Email: thunt2486@gmail.com

6 02 2011
Samera Johnson

Hi, my name is Samera Johnson. I am student at the University of South Alabama. I commented last week on your last blog plost. Futhermore this post is such a rewarding one. I can only imagine the fun you are having and the experience you are receiving. I think this experience is going to be very beneficial for you as a teacher. Keep up the great work and good luck to you in the future.

19 11 2010
Courtney

Ms. Bayda,

My name is Courtney and I’m a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. I loved to hear about your volunteer work! I hope to do this one day myself!!! I especially enjoyed your slideshow documenting your time there! Your pictures are absolutely great!!

Courtney

16 11 2010
Brittney Jolly

Hi my name is Brittney Jolly and I am a student at the University of South Alabama in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. Wow your pictures are pretty amazing and they really capture what your doing. I would love to travel and help in schools. You really can learn so much from doing that and the children will teach you so much more than you could have ever imagined. I could only imagine how much you learned about the languages, cultures, and people. I hope that you had a blast and I really enjoyed looking at your pictures and reading your blog post.

9 11 2010
Aaron Griffin

Hello Mrs. Bayda, my name is Aaron Griffin in EDM 310 at the University of South Alabama. I was really encouraged to hear about your recent community projects you were involved in. Helping others is so important and rewarding. Thank you for your post and incite. Great job!

19 10 2010
Algia Autrey

Hi Mrs. Bayda

My name is Algia Autrey, I’m currently in Dr. Strange EDM 310 class, at the University of South Alabama in Mobile, Alabama. I really enjoy reading your post, and the pictures are really amazing. It looks as if your trip was awesome. I’m studying Elementary Education, and I would love to get that opportunity like you had. I think traveling to other countries and helping out children makes wonderful teacher. I love volunteering with kids and communities, I know its hard work but at the end of the day its all worth it. Its the smiles on the faces, and that’s the biggest reward ever. Is that’s how you feel when you volunteer?

29 09 2010
Emily Pilotte

Hi Mrs. Bayda!
My name is Emily Pilotte and I am in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama. I loved reading your post and looking at your pictures! It looked like you were having so much fun and that you love what you do. That’s awesome! I look forward to reading your next post!

25 09 2010
Marie Allgood

Hi Ms. Bayda. I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am taking Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. I will be commenting on my blog allgoodmarieedm310@blogspot.com shortly talking about my comments to your post. Please feel free to check it out. I really enjoyed looking at your pictures. It looks as if you had an awesome time doing each of these things. I think it would be amazing to travel and teach different cultures.

25 09 2010
Lola Solano

Hi Mrs. Bayda,
My name is Lola Solano. I am taking EDM310 at University of South Alabama. WOW! Looks like you are having a great adventure. I loved looking at all your pictures. I cannot wait to see what you post about next.

14 09 2010
Cole

Wow, I have to say that all of the pictures are full of excitement and color. I hope all of the children you were teaching had as much fun as you seem to have had teaching them. I am also a student in an EDM class and I am thinking about getting a degree in Spanish along with the English one I am working on. The Latin culture is so interesting and different compared to ours.

13 09 2010
Brittany Estes

Mrs. Bayda,
I am a student at the University of South Alabama and I am taking EDM 310. This is a class that is helping future teachers learn about the importance technology and how to use it. I am very glad that I have the chance to see your blog and learn about the projects that you are doing. I have really enjoyed looking through your pictures and seeing all the amazing things that you have done. Traveling is a passion of mine and I love that you are getting to see a lot of special places as well as helping others out. I love seeing how you get to interact with children from all over the world and how you can learn from one another. It is amazing and I am looking forward to many more pictures of the places that you have gone.
Thanks!

29 08 2010
Angelica Scott

Mrs. Bayda

My name is Angelic Scott I am a student in the United States at the University of South Alabama. I am studying to be a special education teacher k-6. I am from Brazil but have lived in the United States since I was 2. I am 20 and going into my last two years of school and a little nervous but excited all at the same time.
I loved looking at your pictures and seeing the smiles on all those kids faces. I think it has to be so rewording to teach all over the world. I do not remember a time that I didn’t want to be a teacher. When I read stories and see pictures of people like you and see how much you are making an impact it really reinforces my passion for kids and wanting to help them learn any thing and every thing they want to. As I read threw your blog’s I think my favorite part is how open you are to new cultures and how you have taken this wonderful opportunity and shared it with other people. I don’t know where I want to teach yet but as I get closer to graduating I have really thought about traveling outside the United States maybe even to Brazil . Thank you for making the start of this process so exciting.

28 08 2010
Lauren Myrick

Mrs. Bayda,
My name is Lauren Myrick and I am studying in the United States to become a teacher in the future. After reading several of your blog posts, I became very intrigued in every experience you have taken part in. I think it is so wonderful that you were able to do all of the things you did in different communities and different environments. I would love to experience everything you have, and be able to be part of a variety of cultures and activities that would help me grow and learn. I think it is so important that you were able to interact with the children in the places you have traveled to, and I love all of your pictures that you have posted through your journies! I think educators should all have the opportunity to travel to different parts of the world in order to interact with different communites and people. I hope one day I will be able to travel to other places and be able to interact in different cutures and teach a variety of students. Your travels have left a mark on my mind and I can’t wait to read more posts about your adventures and learning experiences.
My Blog Post

26 08 2010
Eloise Martin

Hello Mrs. Bayda,

My name is Eloise Martin and I am currently studying in the United States. I think it is very interesting what you have been up to. It reminds me of what my family and I have to do nearly everyday. My farther is a farmer, so when I go back home I’m in the fields with him digging and planting so I know exactly what you’ve been up to. I am sure it was a great experience for you. I hope you have more great adventures to post. 🙂

26 08 2010
Morgan

Hi Eloise,

Nice to hear your connection with what I was experiencing. I found it really neat to try out some of the processes and lifestyle habits that seemed foreign to me, yet were are so natural to many people who are farmers at home. Have a great semester!

27 08 2010
Crystal Raper

my class blog

Mrs, Bayda here is a link to my class blog if you are interested in looking at it.

26 08 2010
Crystal Raper

Hello Mrs. Bayda,

My name is Crystal I am attending the University of South Alabama.
I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed your most recent blog about your wonderful trips to different countries. It is very exciting to watch you interact with all the children in different activies that they perform everday. The change in atmosphere, people, and environment must have been so exciting through your travels. Learning new cultures, languages and even performing everday task, but did things a little different then other people would have done in the United States. I can’t wait to see what you blog about next!

26 08 2010
Morgan

Hi Crystal,

Thanks for you comment and your enthusiasm! Have a great semester.

26 08 2010
Crystal Raper

Hi Mrs. Bayda,

Leave a Reply

