Self- and Family Portrait Making

14 02 2010

Reflective Inquiry, Artifact #1: My Self-Portrait

This artifact begins an emerging reflective inquiry into who I am as a curriculum-maker alongside families, children, and colleagues.  I begin with my identity, because it has shaped who I am as an educator and how I interact with students profoundly.  The geometric self-portrait I created shows important parts of my life.  I really enjoyed engaging in the project-based process of creating geometric self- and family- portraits with students and families in my internship as a way of honouring unique identities within our learning community!

Here are some examples of self- and family-portraits made by my grade 2/3 students and their families.  The self-portrait making was a longer, project-based initiative within our classroom, while the family-portraits were created during a single afternoon family workshop, where students taught their families how to make a geometric self-portrait together.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 03 2010
Culminating Reflective Inquiry Into My Educational Practice « Morgan Bayda

[…] • Week One – Any artifact representing who I am as a Curriculum Maker – My Geometric Self Portrait (post) […]

15 02 2010
mbayda

Thanks! I took a workshop with our school Division’s Aboriginal Consultant last year on symmetrical and geometric self-portrait making, and it turned out to be so valuable. Students love that they get to use real canvasses for the project.

15 02 2010
sjones89

This is an awesome idea! The self-portraits are really impressive and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

